A Fistful of Renders

After a month+ long period of not posting, I’m back! Been busy with Superheroes stuff (which will get posted sooner than later), as well as things that pop up here and there.
So here’s some assorted renders that I’ve been able to work on during downtime – nothing really fleshed out, just trying out some different techniques or approaches to things.

And so it begins:

There’s a neat store around the corner from my apartment that has all sorts of furniture and decorations. They happened to have this little tin zeppelin toy that I really liked. I especially liked the texture of the actual tin, with slight scratches. The overall shape of the zeppelin was dead easy – the focus was on the material. Some bump + normal mapping and a few layers of specularity later, this was the result.

I did notice that the scale of the scratches made the zeppelin look fairly toy-like (which makes sense given the reference); I decided to try out some trees that were more or less realistic. I think the trees give it a nice sense of contrast in terms of scale, and they kind of look like the trees found on maquettes.

This gross little dude was the result of a little doodle at work. I’d post it, but it’s really a crap doodle.

For this one I wanted to play with two things: some subsurface scattering, as well as getting an eyeball to look good with texture in the actual iris. I’ve seen many renders where the eyes look sort of dead and flat; for this I really wanted to bring that stringy texture. I also went ahead and made the veins pop out some, just to fully bring out the specularity and fresnel reflection that’s in the eye membrane.

Here’s a closer shot of the eye:

And last, but not least, is another test with hair/fur.

Usually I’m not a big fan of renders that consist of just cubes and spheres. Originally I started playing around with the hair/fur for eyelids and eyebrows for the gross eggman/eyeman guy above. It actually made him look even more unpleasant – to the point that I scratched the idea.

However, thanks to those tests I ended up having a hair/fur material that not only looked good from afar, but you’d get really good detail when viewed up close.
Using geometry for the hair instead of the vector generated hairs gives you that flexibility, as well as really thorough customization for the hair. For example, you wouldn’t think it, but eyelashes have a lot more specularity than eyebrows for example.

Just your standard C4D cubes… until you zoom in.
These two renders are the same scene, same model, same material, and same geometry for the hairs. The only thing different is the camera placement and focal length.

So yeah, after a month+ of not posting, that’s a fistful of renders. More posts to come soon.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

