Tasty Treats: Sweet Sally’s Honey

Here’s the latest addition to the Tasty Treats series: Honey, brought to you by Sweet Sally. The style is a little different from the other ones – we may be reaching the end of the Tasty Treats series and onto something else – who knows!

I’ve been working on the honey for a while now. It was supposed to be done sooner, but with my departure to Cannes for a week it had to be stopped halfway. Not that I’m complaining!

Modeling the honey was easy with some fluid dynamics (ohhhh those infinitely slow viscous particles), but the real trick was just being patient enough on render times for all the transparent and translucent materials/shaders. Had I used Global Illumination the render times would’ve been through the roof!

[vimeo http://www.vimeo.com/25716652 w=640&h=360]

I played around with different Index of Refraction’s (IOR) for the honey – most of the recommended IOR’s were too much or not enough, so I just eyeballed it to what looked good to me. There’s also some caustics going on, but probably not really noticeable – especially after some grading and curves adjustment.

EDIT: I’ve been asked if this was rendered using an external rendered (vRay, Maxwell, Mental Ray) – while I initally did try Maxwell, I didn’t like the results. All you see is C4D’s Advanced Render.

Kudos to Sarah Goodreau for making the label for me.

Leave a Reply

